Inspiring Your Child to Learn and Love Math

When you support and encourage your child to learn, your positive approach helps influence your child's success.

A message from the Council of Ontario Directors of Education

When students understand mathematics, they are equipped with knowledge they can bring to every aspect of their lives. Inspiring Your Child to Learn and Love Math is a tool kit for parents. It provides modules with simple, but effective methods and materials for parents. It shows you how to get involved in your children's learning, and offers guidance for working with students of different ages.

This Parent Tool Kit was developed by experts in mathematics education, with input and advice from parents and students. When families and educators join forces, students of all ages can experience greater success in their learning.

Take the time to view or download the videos and documentation that applies to the age group you are interested in. Share with colleagues, friends and family. If you are preparing a parent engagement workshop, you will find everything you need right here!

Introduction - What is the Parent Tool Kit?

"Parent engagement matters. Study after study has shown us that student achievement improves when parents play an active role in their children's education, and that good schools become even better schools when parents are involved..."

Ministry of Education, "Parent Engagement"

This Parent Tool Kit was created specifically for parents of children in the elementary grades in Ontario (Junior Kindergarten to Grade 8). The goal of this resource is to provide parents with the most significant research-based information to help them be the best, most knowledgeable and most confident supporters for their child's mathematics education.

You might also want to share the tool kit with other parents in your community who are struggling to find the information they need to help their children navigate the K-8 mathematics program. You can do so by using the Implementation Guide to host a parent information evening at your local school.

However you choose to use it, this tool kit will undoubtedly help strengthen your knowledge and understanding. It emphasizes the many ways in which you play an important role in your child's education. This, in turn, reinforces your child's success in mathematics with your help and support.


Parent Tool Kit

We have made every effort to acknowledge original sources and to comply with copyright law. If there are cases where this has not been done, please notify the author. Errors or omissions will be corrected in a future edition.


This material has been designed and prepared by the Council of Ontario Directors of Education.

© 2015, Council of Ontario Directors of Education. All rights reserved.

Encourager votre enfant à apprendre et à aimer les mathématiques

Lorsque vous appuyez votre enfant et vous encouragez son apprentissage, votre approche positive inuencera son succès

Un message du Council of Ontario Directors of Education

Lorsque les élèves comprennent les mathématiques, ils se munissent de connaissances qu'ils peuvent ensuite mettre en pratique dans chaque aspect de leurs vies. « Encourager votre enfant à apprendre et à aimer les mathématiques » est une trousse d'outils pour les parents, composée de modules contenant des techniques et des ressources simples et efficaces. De plus, elle vous montrera comment vous impliquer à l'apprentissage de votre enfant et vous offrira des méthodes pour travailler avec des enfants de différents âges.

Cette Trousse d'outils a été préparée par des spécialistes de l'enseignement des mathématiques qui ont consulté les parents et les élèves et collaboré avec eux. Lorsque les parents font équipe avec les enseignants, les élèves de tout âge peuvent vivre de meilleurs succès dans leur apprentissage.

Prenez le temps de visionner ou de télécharger les vidéos et la documentation qui s'appliquent au niveau qui vous intéresse et partagez-les avec vos collègues, vos amis et les membres de votre famille. Si vous préparez un atelier dirigé pour les parents, vous trouverez ici tout ce dont vous aurez besoin!

Introduction - ce qui est la trousse à outils?

« La participation des parents est importante. De nombreuses études montrent que les élèves ont un meilleur rendement quand leurs parents jouent un rôle actif dans leur éducation et que les bonnes écoles deviennent encore meilleures quand les parents se mettent de la partie… »

Ministère de l'Éducation, « Engagement des parents »

Cette Trousse d'outils a été préparée pour les parents d'élèves des écoles élémentaires  (de la maternelle à la 8e année) de l'Ontario. Cette ressource vise à fournir aux parents des renseignements essentiels, fondés sur les recherches permettant d'avoir les connaissances et la confiance nécessaires pour enseigner les mathématiques à leurs enfants.

Vous pouvez partager la trousse d'outils avec d'autres parents de votre collectivité qui ont de la difficulté à trouver les renseignements nécessaires pour aider leurs enfants à apprendre les mathématiques de la maternelle à la 8e année. En utilisant le guide de planification des ateliers, organisez une soirée d'information pour les parents à l'école locale.

Indépendamment du type d'utilisation, cette trousse d'outils vous aidera à améliorer vos connaissances et votre compréhension. Elle soulignera les différentes méthodes que vous pouvez jouer dans l'éducation de votre enfant. Ceci renforcera le succès éventuel de votre enfant en mathématiques grâce à votre aide et soutien.

 

Parent Tool Kit

Nous avons fait tous les efforts possibles pour mentionner les sources originales et pour respecter les lois sur le droit d'auteur. Si des sources n'ont pas été mentionnées, veuillez aviser l'auteur. Les erreurs et les omissions seront corrigées dans la prochaine version.

 

Ce matériel a été conçu et préparé par le Council of Ontario Directors of Education.


© 2015, Council of Ontario Directors of Education. Tous les droits réservés.